Savoring Life: Create a Savoring Habit

Starfish in SandAt different times in my life I have focused on creating new habits that support the life I want to live. As a result I have transformed various areas of my life. For example I would set up a morning routine that had me eating breakfast, walking the dogs, and leaving for work with a made bed and a folded load of laundry. Each one of those events was a simple action that practiced over time became an auto-piloted activity.

Developing a new habit is about putting a small piece of your life on auto-pilot. As we consistently perform a new activity we start to move a behavior from consciously telling ourselves to perform an activity to an unconscious process. We build new neuro pathways in our brain that incorporates that new habit automatically. All of a sudden we stop beating ourselves up for not having our act together and notice that we have (and can build more) processes that sustain us. And most importantly we develop a track record of success.

Consistently building new habits allows you to establish or add to your track record of success and demonstrates that you can do anything you set your mind and intentions to. Even if your habit is to make your bed every morning the process of turning this from a challenge to a success will show you that you can obtain anything you set your mind to. Every time you see that well-made bed before starting the rest of your day will consciously or subconsciously tell you that you are successful and will apply those same success processes to other areas of your life.

This month let’s take the same process that get us making a bed, consistently folding laundry, or walking 3 miles with the dogs and apply them to savoring life. This week I asked you to consider a simple act that if done on a daily basis would have you savoring your life more. What are some of the ideas you came up with?

For me I am cooking and baking more, consistently providing real food for my daughter and me. That means I cook or bake something every day so we depend less on take out, packaged, and processed foods. This is not a daily 5-minute habit, but probably a daily 30-60 minute habit. This is me slowing down and reprioritizing my time to create better life experiences for my family. And each time I develop or duplicate a successful recipe I will certainly be savoring the results.

Each Saturday of the month of October I will share a tip or a few about how to create habits that support you. I will also be sharing how I am doing at creating the cooking and baking habit in my home so you can see a real example put into practice.

What will you do this month to either more fully anticipate future events, fully engage in current events, or better recall the past events of your life?

Please join me for a month long experiment of creating a new savoring habit that will have you living life more fully.

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Habits, Savor Life, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Savoring Life: Create a Savoring Habit

  1. Lorelle Mac says:

    Walking in nature is a savouring moment, fresh air, sunshine, birds, flowers. Time to relax and rejuvenate.

  2. ashleyblegen says:

    I needed this! I am constantly trying to start up a habit of excising daily but it has been a struggle for years now but now I am glad to know a way that will make it easier for me!

Leave a Reply

