Feel Good: Thrive in Your Environment: 9 Ways to Handle the Old Stuff in Our Lives and Clear Out Distractions

Today, March 2, is National Old Stuff Day.

Thomas Jefferson once said, ‘We should never judge a president by his age, only by his works.’ And ever since he told me that, I stopped worrying.

Ronald Reagan, 40th president of US (1911 – 2004)

When I was originally planning to write on this topic I was thinking “out with the old and in with the new”, but that just does not resonate with me.  So I started to look into the many interpretations of old and decided maybe the best way to honor National Old Stuff Day was to find a way to handle the old stuff in our lives.  Give it a read and let me know what resonates with you.

Worn Out and Broken.  Unless you are very organized you may have some worn out and broken things.  If these things are not adding value or helping you remember a treasured time in your life it may be time to purge a few things. 

Antique and Collectible.  There is such beauty in some old things, for me I especially appreciate antique sewing machines.  Today would be a great day to dust off and polish up the collectibles and antiques in your environment so they truly bring the time-tested beauty and cherished memories into your life. 

Expired.  Those things what are just past their date of being a benefit at all need to simply go.  I know if you spent money on these it is hard to just throw them out, but it’s probably time to cut your losses and throw them away.

No Longer Needed.  The other night I was watching the news and heard a local family lost their home and business due to a fire.  If you are someone like I am, who has extras of many things now might be a great day to pass those on to who could use them.  Many people are finding themselves in difficult economic times and could benefit from our surplus.

Dull or Faded.  Sometimes we can live with the dull, faded, and dingy until we find what we really want, but surrounding ourselves with things we no longer enjoy can drain our energy, especially if you are the personality type that thrives in a beautiful environment.  Today make a plan to remove or replace the dull and faded things that are draining your energy.

Mature and Wise.  Today could be a good day to connect with the more mature and wiser individuals in your life.  So many older people get lonely with all the time retired life rewards them.  Today call and connect.  If you are dealing with a new issue that would benefit from the experience of another, give them a call.  Tap into the more experienced ones in your life today.

No Longer Useful.  What are you going to do with that old electric typewriter anyway?!  Today would be a good day to declare if something is an antique that you want to collect or just junk that needs to be purged.  If you have a few no longer useful things in your attic or basement today might be a good day to spend 30 minutes or so hauling a few to the garbage, recycling or a local consignment shop.

Inherited.  Several years ago I moved into my step grandmas old house.  After all her family members removed the things they wanted from the house I moved into the house and all that remained.  My daughter (who was 5 at the time) was close to her and had grandmas treasures that she did not want to throw away, like old plastic flower arrangements, little lamps, and other little things that we “inherited”.  Over the 10 years since most of these things have broken, were passed along, or discarded, but occasionally we find one of these “inherited” items in the attic or basement and need to move it along because it does not hold a treasured memory or provide any real usefulness.  Let’s not hold onto stuff we have inherited unless it provides meaning or fulfills a need.  Capture the memories not the stuff.

Unused or Never Used.  There is an organization rule:  If you have not used an item in the last year move it on.  I have much of this.  Although I completely cleaned out my closet and donated 14 bags of cloths to a local charity over a year ago, I know there are items hanging in there that I have not worn since.  Today share your excess, especially those things you do not use and are only taking up space in your house.  Another advantage of this is once those things you are not using are removed you will have access to those things you would use if you could only find them.

Today’s Simple Smile Igniter:  Seize one interpretation of “old” and apply it to your life today.

Related Reading on The 100 Smile Challenge Mindfulness Strategy:

Mindset Monday:  Be Present This Week With Those You Love

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in 100 Smile Challenge, Habits, Organization, Productivity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feel Good: Thrive in Your Environment: 9 Ways to Handle the Old Stuff in Our Lives and Clear Out Distractions

  1. Leona Martin says:

    Great post and tips! I try to purge our house twice a year and a few times more and it sure does feel good to do so!

  2. Lucretia says:

    Thank you for sharing your post. I have been really thinking about doing the same lately.

  3. What a great post on things to sort, rid of, give away or clean and polish. I collect antiques as well. Some day my tiny things will be worth money. I have a question: I have collected Barbie dolls since my daughter was young, I have stopped now..but I often wonder If I should just put them in our garage sale this year? Why keep them? They are in original boxes with receipts attached in mint condition. Or do I give them to my daughter when she has kids? Or what if she has a boy and not a girl. I wonder if it’s worth keeping them ??? Jackie

    • WOW! Sounds like you have some research to do. If they are in original boxes with receipts attached you probably have some type of investment. I would think these would be valuable to the right person and would hate to see you just garage sale something that you have put such care into…unless you can get their current value in your garage sale.

      Good luck with that…my daughter just parted with most of her played with dolls. She may have kept a few for her future kids, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

