Achieve: Find Your Rhythm: Mind Your Energy Patterns

Arranging a bowl of flowers in the morning can give a sense of quiet in a crowded day – like writing a poem, or saying a prayer.

Anne Morrow Lindbergh

I am a morning person so this quote really inspires me.  Any extra time I can take in the morning really can sustain me throughout the day.  Although I typically get straight to work in the morning because I know this is my time of the most mental clarity and creativity.  I also try to do a few things in the morning to set my day up for success.

Around 2 o’clock I tend to lose my focus and can greatly benefit from a break or change my focus to tasks that require less focus and energy.  I then tend to refocus and plug away for a few more focused and productive hours later in the afternoon and into evening.

Knowing my energy pattterns allows me to plan my work and play during the hours that most benefit me and those I am working for.  Morning hours working on my blog, my corporate job, or in the garden best utilize my mental clarity and creativity.  Afternoons spend with my daughter or a friend for coffee, a movie, a workout, or a pedicure recharge me when I need a break.

When I am using my energy patterns to the best of my ability I am getting the most out of myself, I am more engaged, and I am happier with the flow of my day.

Today’s Simple Smile Igniter:

Briefly analyze your daily activities, your commitments, and your energy patterns.  Are you matching your energy level to the tasks at hand or are you forcing yourself into someone else’s energy patterns?  Match your tasks to your energy patterns and identify where you could make some minor changes to maximize your efforts.  Aligning your activities with your energy patterns will maximize your days.

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in 100 Smile Challenge, Energy, Productivity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Achieve: Find Your Rhythm: Mind Your Energy Patterns

  1. Lisbeth Tanz says:

    Truer words have not been spoken! Know your body and its rhythms so you can be most productive during your peak times. Makes sense to me and I’m slowing revamping my biz hours to reflect this as you have done. I’m a big fan of naps, although mine only last for 30 mins (usually less). I find a nap in the afternoon recharges me and puts me back on my mental game.

  2. Diana says:

    I am like Lisbeth because I need to take a nap in the afternoon to re-energize. For me I can even take a power 15 minute nap which does wonders for me. I like to do as much as possible during the morning as it’s usually quieter and I usually spend this time brainstorming or writing posts. As for the evenings, I get distracted and tired from the day so I just read to ideas which I maybe able to work on the next morrning:)

  3. Rhonda Neely says:

    I too love power naps. A 15 minute power nap can give me hours of energy. Opposite of you ladies, I am not a morning person and I will sometimes get the most motivated around 10:00PM when I should be thinking of going to bed. I would like to move my energy to the AM instead of PM!

Leave a Reply

