Mindset: Ignite Gratitude: What are YOU Grateful For and Why?

“Gratitude is the memory of the heart.”
Italian Proverb

There is a rule I try to apply when giving a compliment or expressing gratitude. I like to add the reason for the expression. For example, instead of just a “Thank you”, make it “Thank you for cleaning the house while I worked in the yard.  Now we can both relax and have fun for the rest of the day.”

The extra context let’s the other person know the positive impact they’ve had on you and that they have made a specific difference in your life.

Let’s apply the same to gratitude in general. Today’s Simple Smile Igniter is to make a gratitude list as you go throughout the day.  Everytime you experience a moment of gratitude write it down in your  phone or in a journal. Don’t just write “I’m grateful for my car.”. But add context “I am grateful that I have a well-running car with a great stereo to drive to work.  I love listening to my favorite songs on the way to work and run quick errands on the way home at the end of the day.”

When we add the context it becomes more real and more heartfelt. Part of acknowledging gratitude is about becoming more aware.  The more aware we are of all the great things, people, and events we have in life the more aware we become of how blessed we truly are.

Also keep your statements positive.  The positive statement is a positive message to your subconscious.  This will tell your subconscious that this is a good thing and bring more of this into my life.  For example, “Thank you for a fresh coffee this morning.  I love the warmth of the cup in my hand and the aroma perks me up for the day” is more positive than “Thank you for a fresh cup of coffee so I am not tired and dragging all day long”.  The first gratitude statement is upbeat, soothing, and positive.  The second is exhausting and sends the message to your subconscious to make today a chore.

Give this a try today and let me know if you experience a day filled with more smiles.

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in 100 Smile Challenge, Gratitude, Smile Toolbox and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mindset: Ignite Gratitude: What are YOU Grateful For and Why?

  1. Your blog made me smile, Jodi. Expressing gratitude is the best way to get happy and stay positive. Every morning and night (and often throughout the day) I say, “thank you” …for my life, for my family, for my friends and it goes on and on. I notice more and more blessings come my way when I live with the attitude of gratitude. This is a great blog and a good constant reminder to all.

    • I love your comment about noticing more and more blessings coming your way when you live with the attitude of gratitude. As we increase our awareness of the blessings in our lives we see more and more. I think we also attract more and more when we are in that attitude of gratitude.

  2. K'Lee Banks says:

    Great post and reminder about the importance of staying mindful of our words and our attitudes. This must be a common theme, as I’ve read other posts today on this topic, and I blogged about it recently as well!

    I always remember hearing Joyce Meyer say this first, although I’m sure many others have said it, too: We should have an attitude of gratitude!

    Thanks again for a great post. 🙂

  3. Jan Coghan says:

    Awesome post! A gratitude attitude, yes.

  4. Pam says:

    Love this post. I too try to have an attitude of gratitude!
    Happy Day 26, Jodi. I posted this post on my Facebook page!

  5. First I am grateful for LIFE: God gave me. Second, I am grateful for YOU as you inspire me. I wish I could come up with a theme like you did and create a series like you are doing. Any ideas? Jackie

    • That is so sweet! Thank you 🙂
      I blogged and wrote (off and on) for a few years before this theme begged to come out.
      The 100 Smile Challenge was an idea that marinaded for years in me, then I started reading everything I found about the science behind happiness.
      My blog really is my exploration and inspiration on the topic of happiness. It is an exploration of an idea I could not let go of.

      There are ideas marinading in you too.
      Reading, writing, and helping people is a consistent theme for you.
      You are a source of encouragement and support for me..and I suspect many others.
      Combining your skills, your natural tendencies, and your intented connection to others will surface into a heart based mission, passion, and potential business in your life.

      If you are not already, start capturing your ideas in a notebook (physical or digital) and allow yourself to brainstorm and dream about each one.
      Create a picture of what a pursuit of that idea would look like, use all your senses and intuition to explore.
      One of those ideas will stalk you.
      The universe will reveal so much about it to you that you will be compelled to explore it more, and because of your unique life experiences and perspective people will want to hear about it as only you can share.
      Your passion is surfacing…allow it, explore it, embrace it.
      And if you find it didn’t feel right, follow the next one.
      One will fit you perfectly.

Leave a Reply

