Everyday is a Holiday and Today is National Limerick Day

Today May 12 is National Limerick Day so I decided to figure out how to write a limerick and I want to encourage you to do the same and have some fun with it.

Borrowing from Giggle Poetry’s website I found super easy instructions for writing a limerick, then I used the RhymeZone’s Rhyme Disctionary to help me find rhyming words.

I came up with the following:

Although I have a corporate job

I’d rather stay home and blog

To write each day

For a little pay

My heart in joy would throb.

I also came up with one for my favorite guy:

I am in love with a boy

Who brings me much joy

With his eyes of blue

And a heart that’s true

We’ve created a love nothing will destroy.

OK, one more for my daughter:

My daughter Shianne is a beauty

Boys even call her a cutie

With long hair of brown

And rarely a frown

Her smile lets you know she’s not snooty.

I’ll spare you of anymore, but give it a try and have some fun.  Then share with me what you come up with.

Enjoy National Limerick Day 🙂

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Just Fun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everyday is a Holiday and Today is National Limerick Day

  1. These were great and put a smile on my face! Thank you! Just think, you were a poet, and didn’t even know it!!! Okay, that was my lame attempt! Keep them coming, the flow of creativity can you lead you anywhere!

Leave a Reply

