100 Smile Challenge: What Do You Hear?

Close your eyes for a minute.

What do you hear?

I am outside with my dogs as I write this.  I hear a chorus of birds.  A squirrel just ran past on the power lines and chirped at the dogs.  I hear cars as they go by, as well as the freeway in the distance.  

What memories do these sounds trigger for you?

When I was a little girl I remember laying in bed and hearing a bird with a two-note chirp. I was convinced it was saying “Jo-di”.

The sounds of the freeway remind me of many years ago when I was living in Seattle.  A few friends and I went over to another friends apartment on a summer night.  The apartment was hot so Steve opened the sliding glass door.  My friend lived very close to the freeway, as the freeway sound entered the apartment Steve said “ahh, the sound of the ocean.” 

It would be easy to get annoyed with the birds who wake me up before the alarm clock or the freeway noise that travels the distance to my home, but these nice memories help me to reframe the sounds into things that make me smile.

Today’s Smile Igniter is to slow down and listen to the sounds around you.  Frame them up in the sweet memories of your life.  And the next time you hear the freeway sound traveling a distance, give it a listen.  Doesn’t it sound like the ocean?

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in 100 Smile Challenge, Environments, Mindfulness, Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Smile Challenge: What Do You Hear?

  1. I don’t get outside much so I hear all the buzzing of the air conditioner and the refrigerator and tv blaring-oh and hubby snoring asleep.

Leave a Reply

