October New Habit Challenge: Day 3: Harness the Power of Consistency

How did yesterday go?  How is today looking, new habit-wise that is?

Yesterday lights out for me was at 10:07 then the dogs woke me up at 1:00am to go outside.  I guess I forgot this is a new habit for them as well.  Unfortunately it took me a while to fall back to sleep so this morning I got up at 6 instead of 5.  New habits take some time to establish, but with a little consistency the dogs and I will establish a new habit.

Today’s New Habit Challenge Tip is…

Harness the Power of Consistency.  At the heart of habit creation is consistent action. Performing your new habit at the same time, place, and circumstance everyday will move this new action from a place of conscious deliberate action to subconscious routine.

My new habit for this month is to go to bed at 10AM each night.  At the core of this habit is I need 7 hours of sleep each night.  I could have made my habit to get 7 hours of sleep, and in reality on Friday and Saturday night I follow the 7 hour rule since those are date nights with my guy and I can sleep in later on the weekends.

To make this new habit more routine I chose to set a “bedtime” instead of calculating the hours on “school nights”.  By following a “bedtime” my body and mind can fall into a simple evening routine that requires little thought and no additional preparation.  With consistent action I will fall into a simple evening routine that has me snuggled into sleep by 10PM each night.

Your new habit may have more flexibility, so look for how you can make it consistent.

If your new habit is not time related maybe it is at the same place each day.  For example, if you regularly lose your keys and would like to change that behavior perhaps you create a consistent landing place for your wallet and keys everyday.  No more hunting for your keys because they are always on your desk or where ever your landing place is.  And when placed with you wallet you have a bigger target to catch your eye.

Making your new habit circumstance related could be something like working more mindfully.  In everything you do you give it your full attention.  If other things come to mind to do you capture the thought on a list and mindfully address it when appropriate.

Consider your new habit.  How can you harness the power of consistency?  If you get stuck on this go ahead and ask for input in the comments section of this post.  I and possibly other readers will share our advice if you ask.

If you would like support in creating new habits that could increase your life satisfaction consider my FREE Program 30-Days to a New Habit.  You can receive the 30 daily action plans via daily e-mails when you send a blank e-mail to new_habit@weber.com

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Habits, October New Habit Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October New Habit Challenge: Day 3: Harness the Power of Consistency

  1. Hi,

    This is great because there has been research done on the fact that you cannot maintain a habit if your environmental circumstances are not conducive to it. So it’s great that you stress the fact that you should relate the circumstances to the habit as much as possible.

    I often manage well with some habits and then not with others – I find that very strange. Great post, hope to see more during the challenge!

    Cheers, Marisa

    • Hi Marisa,
      I don’t know why some habits are more difficult than others although one thing I have observed in my research about behaviour change and creating new habits is that it is easier to establish new habits than simply stop old habits.
      If you have tried to just stop an old habit, like smoking, it is easier to replace the habit with a new one, like chewing gum when one would typically go for a cigarette.
      Creating a new habit forms new neuro-pathways that change the way we think and behave towards a behaviour. When we just stop a habit we have to then just try to ignore those thoughts and urges.
      I’ll be writing more about this one of these days this month.
      Cheers,
      Jodi

Leave a Reply

