October New Habit Challenge: Day 5: Trust the Process of Success

It is Day 5, you may be experiencing great success, great frustration, or somewhere in between.  If you are leaning towards frustration on this scale of success that is ok, frustration means your mind is seeking the answer or a better way.  Frustration is a portion of the path to success, trust the process.

Today’s New Habit Challenge Tip is…

Trust the Process of Success.  Many scientists have established that it takes 21 days for a new habit to become an established subconscious process.  During the early days of new habit building your mind is still figuring out how to make this new habit a part of daily life.  There are obstacles and old habits that this new process needs to navigate or bypass.  Allow yourself to go through this process of new habit creation and you will establish your own process of success.

With my new “bedtime” habit there are plenty of obstacles and old patterns that I need to negotiate just to get to bed at 10PM and up at 5AM.  Here I am on Day 5 and I still have not done it “perfectly”.  Old habits reveal themselves and new obstacles fall into my path.

I like going to bed and hanging out there with a book, tv, or my iPad and Words with Friends.  When I get up at 5AM I am hungry before I leave for the office, now instead of grabbing something to eat when I get to the office I need to eat something before I leave.  None of these are insurmountable; they are simply new patterns to establish.

The great thing is I am seeing progress.  Even with just 5 days under my belt my mind is waking before my alarm.  By getting up earlier I am also consistently getting to work earlier, which (when I do not have a conference call with Hong Kong) allows me to get home earlier.  I actually have time before dinner to hang out at home.

My conscious and subconscious minds are gathering the positives of this new habit and working through the change.  It is not perfect yet, but habit change is not about perfection it truly is about progress and sticking with it.

How is it going for you?  I would love to hear about your experience on this journey of new habit creation.

If you would like support in creating new habits that could increase your life satisfaction consider my FREE Program 30-Days to a New Habit.  You can receive the 30 daily action plans via daily e-mails when you send a blank e-mail to new_habit@weber.com

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Habits, October New Habit Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October New Habit Challenge: Day 5: Trust the Process of Success

  1. Jamie says:

    I think the hardest thing about a new habit is making the commitment to make the change. Once the commitment is there, the rest is just due diligence.

  2. Lynn Ruby says:

    Thanks for the tip on Day 5. Today will be a challenge for me as I have a full day of meetings outside of the office AND the workout scheduled for today is the toughest one of the bunch PLUS it’s 1 and a half hours long. So it will be a challenge to fit it into my day and still get everything else done! Good news is that I have already scheduled out the full day, plugging in where each task needs to go so that all can be accomplished. And I’m sore! But feel great otherwise. Thanks for the reminder that all does not have to be done perfectly! And that other supporting habits sometimes need to be developed around the main habit to make the main habit stick. Ah life is a blast! Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

