October New Habit Challenge: Day 20: Do This for YOU

Today’s New Habit Challenge Tip…

Do This For You.  In goal setting and habit creation you will experience more immediate and long term success when you do it all for you.  This is an area of life where you are the priority.  It needs to feel good to you.  You need to love it.  You will make the change you want with you embrace YOU.

One of the first lessons I learned in habit development was to do it for ME.  My first new habit to intentionally develop on this path was to make my bed.  Since our house is very small and my bedroom is off the living room and the door between the two is almost always open so the dog can sleep in that door way I thought my daughter would appreciate it if I made my bed each day.  After I was well into the development of this new habit I commented to my daughter, “Are you glad I am making my bed every day?  Now you do not need to see my unmade bed when you are in the living room.”  Her response, “No.”  Although I was gaining a lot from my habit building experiment, I chose this habit for my daughter and she did not even notice.

I was a good thing I was quite a way through this experiment and was seeing the benefits and effectiveness of this process, because if I was only doing it for her I would have stopped.

For many of us we can get caught up in doing so many things for some many other people.  The really great thing about developing habits is that you can do this all for YOU…and you really should.  Consider this a self-care element of your life. Put the effort into you and develop the good habits that improve your life.  Most of the time people will not notice the good you are doing, most of the time others are so caught up in their own world or their own perception of you that they will not really notice the little changes that are transforming you until all of the sudden they notice a transformed you.

So if you are doing a habit that is for someone else, pause today and reflect on what this is doing for you.  You are developing a good habit that is supporting a bigger goal for YOU.  You are discovering your keys to success for YOU.  You are developing tenacity, strength of character, and commitment for YOU.  You are caring for YOU and making your world a better place for YOU.

Remember when you make you the best you possible you are then able to better care for all those around you.  When you fill your proverbial cup then it will run over and positively affect others in your life.  But you must take the steps for you first.  Consider this new habit practice a step towards filling your cup and creating the best you possible.

If you would like support in creating new habits that could increase your life satisfaction consider my FREE Program 30-Days to a New Habit.  You can receive the 30 daily action plans via daily e-mails when you send a blank e-mail to new_habit@weber.com

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Habits, October New Habit Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to October New Habit Challenge: Day 20: Do This for YOU

  1. Ali Bierman says:

    YAY! This is vital info for every person–most especially for women, even moreso for moms. Surprisingly when i ask women about their dreams they usually outline something that improves their kid’s life or their parent’s life or their partner’s life.
    They don’t know it is okay to live for themselves. Gee willikers! You cannot give what you do not have. Take care of you and then you easily and automatically tend to everyone else’s world–and they will even tend to their own needs!
    I write extensively on this critical subject, Thanks for this post.

  2. Thank you for this post. This is something I need to work on myself. I should have subcribed to your posts the first time I was here. I have a lot to go back and catch up on, however, I have subscibed not and hope to not miss anymore gems. 🙂

    • No worries Melissa.
      We are starting the new habit challenge again with Mindfulness habits.
      I will also get the original series put together as an autoresponder for those who want to use it on their own.

Leave a Reply

