October New Habit Challenge: Day 26: Embody Success Attitudes

Today’s New Habit Challenge Tip is…

Embody Success Attitudes.  Throughout this process you have discovered the type of attitude you needed to be successful.  Today reflect on some of your thoughts, feelings and general attitudes experienced along your path to success.  What thoughts, feelings and attitudes worked for you?  Which created obstacles and got you off track?  As a result of this process how have you changed?

Each time I have gone through this habit creation process I have learned more about myself and my ability to create positive change in myself and others.  Even as I write the blog posts for the series each day I experience this whole process in new ways.

What have you found to be the general attitude needed to complete this process?

For me each time I have taken the attitude of curiosity.  I am curious to see how this experiment of mine will play out.  Will I achieve my micro-goal?  What will I learn about myself this time?  How will this new habit impact other areas of my life?

What are some of the thoughts that helped you commit and continue with this process?

Some people get tense at the thought of change; even desired change in a positive direction can get us a little uncomfortable.  For many looking at this as a 31 day challenge and an experiment that can be accepted or rejected at the end of the month eases the tension of change.  Also keeping the habit isolated to a small single faceted action or behavior keeps the actual effort at minimum while allowing the impact to be significantly positive.

Overall how has this process felt for you?  Did you find the support you needed in the blog?  Did you share what you were doing with others?

Part of writing this blog series was also journaling for me.  In another series I started (and never finished) last summer readers shared that they would like more examples and more of what I was experiencing while creating and applying the series.  I attempted to do that here and found it very helpful to journal my way through.  I write to think often so writing brought out my thoughts, feelings, and attitudes.

Were there thoughts, feelings, or attitudes that got you off track?  When you found yourself off track or resistant (if you did), what got you back on track and re-engaged?

As with most things in life the biggest obstacle to success is the 6 inches between our ears.  Our thoughts will side track us or propel us more effectively than anything else.  One of the strategies to the new habit challenge is to make sure our lost needs are being filled in other ways.  For me it could have been so easy to get stuck on the lost “me time”, but I found this awareness led to automatic shifts for me.  The pivotal shift being the acknowledgement that every minute of every day is “me time”.  Over the course of the month I found myself better utilizing my time and my energy.  I knew I would have more energy since I was getting more consistent sleep, but I did not realize that energy would sustain the day and evening.  There were evenings I was tired, but I found myself spending more time in active processes (like writing and researching) than passive processes (like tv).

As a result of your new habit, how has your life been enhanced?

Each time I have gone through this I add to my track record of success.  And although it sounds a little silly at times, making my bed each morning (this was the first habit I created with this process) reinforces in me that I can accomplish what I set out to achieve.  Each time I do this I believe more firmly in the power of one simple idea applied consistently can create great things in our lives.  This time simply going to bed at 10PM each night allows me to more mindfully engage in my own life and allowed me to create this blog series which will be transformed into other series, blog posts, articles, books, journals, workbooks…

If you did not as you were reading this post, please go back through the questions and consider their answers.  Gleaning what you received from the process is a huge reward that you will give yourself.

See you here tomorrow.

If you would like support in creating new habits that could increase your life satisfaction consider my FREE Program 30-Days to a New Habit.  You can receive the 30 daily action plans via daily e-mails when you send a blank e-mail to new_habit@weber.com

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Habits, October New Habit Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October New Habit Challenge: Day 26: Embody Success Attitudes

  1. cheers for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and enjoy learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, could you mind updating your blog with more info? as it’s very valuable for me.

Leave a Reply

