Live in the Moment Challenge: Day 1: 7 Tips for Living in the Moment

Mindfulness is the state of active, open, and intentional attention on the present.  No reminiscing over the past.  No worrying about the future.  Living fully in the present moment will free you to fully experience all the amazement that is already surrounding you.

“The most precious gift we can offer others is our presence. When mindfulness embraces those we love, they will bloom like flowers.”

Thich Nhat Hanh

Welcome to Day 1 of the November Live in the Moment Challenge, this month the focus will be on creating a habit that allows us all to live more in the moment.  Each day of November I will blog about Mindfulness, the 7 tips that follow, habit building tips, and my journey through the process of learning to live more engaged in all areas of my life.  Over the first few days of this process I will share a few ways to decide on a Mindfulness habit then the 7th through the 27th we will implement our new habit.  The last few days of the month we will celebrate our success, note our success strategies, and acknowledge the positive changes we experience as a result of living more mindfully.

Tip 1.  Find Your Flow

There is a current in life.  Sometimes that current is filled with rapids that test our skills and develop our talents.  Other times the flow of life is full of joy and positive experiences.  Learning how to flow with the current of our lives allows us to live exactly as the universe has planned for us.

Tip 2.  Notice Life’s Small Pleasures

It is always a million little things that are my consistent source of joy.  The highlights of life are awesome, but the day to day experiences are made up of simple and small pleasures.  Being aware of those small pleasures and living in those glorious moments will create a fulfilling and happy life.

Tip 3.  Listen Openly

A critical component of mindful living is to listen opening.  Listen without judgment.  Listen fully.  Listen to gather information.  Listen to learn.  Listen to engage.  Listen, not so you can respond, but so you can simply listen.

Tip 4.  Thoughtfully Respond

A thoughtful response is one that is free from emotion.  OK, excitement in fun and positive situations is simply fun!  But an emotionally charged response can break down communication as quick as a glance.  A thoughtful response will almost always build a relationship and lead to understanding and smiles.

Tip 5.  Get Curious

Stepping outside of yourself and becoming your own observer is a great way to open up insights about yourself.  Getting curious about ourselves is a significant step to improving our lives.  However, remember getting curious is not the same as being critical.  Getting curious leads to insights and positive change, being critical can lead to discouragement and stagnancy.

Tip 6.  Clear Out Distractions

Distractions can take the form of many things, people, and mental and physical environments.  When incorporating mindfulness into ones life it is important to clear out distractions and to learn how to block out distractions.  Clearing out distractions can be removing clutter from ones environment to learning how to mentally focus.

Tip 7.  Relax

When we relax we open ourselves to messages from the universe (or God), we stop worrying and reminiscing, and we live more mindfully.  It is important to spend time everyday relaxing with either an active or a passive relaxation technique.

 

Your Turn: 

Learning to live a more mindful life, living in the current moment, not worrying about the future or reminiscing about the past will allow you to create very positive and fulfilling experiences in your life.  When we are mindful we are experiencing all that God is blessing us with as they are happening.  We will not miss the opportunities, because we are fully engaged in each moment of our lives.  Today chose the tip that could have the most positive impact on your life.  For that one tip brainstorm 10 new habits you could create that could help you live more mindfully.  Opening your mind to the possibility will help you make positive changes going forward. 

I would love to hear your brainstorm…please share a few of the ideas you have in the comments section.  I am sure your ideas will prompt ideas for othes and myself.

My Turn:

Today I will brainstormed around listen more openly and came up with the following things I could do:

 

 

I could stop multitasking when I am on the phone.

 

I could take my daughter to dinner at least once a week so we can get out of the house and talk.

 

I could read all work e-mails as though all were written with the most positive of intentions.

 

I could pause each day to listen to my intuition.

 

I could start a meditation practice.

 

I could fully listen to the one talking and not prepare a response.

 

I could breathe.

 

I could ask questions and just learn about others and things.

 

I could learn better listening practices.

 

I could make sure I fully hear and understand those speaking to me.

 

I could slow down so I can engage with each person who speaks to me.

 

I could capture random thoughts and to-dos on my phone so I am freer from distractions.

 

I could stop finishing other people’s sentences.

 

I could let people finish their own sentences.

 

I could slow down and allow people to finish their questions before I answer what I think they are asking.

 

I could listen to those who need to speak.

 

I could engage with those I do not know who want someone to talk to.

 

I could slow down.

 

I could be open to interruptions.

 

I could see interruptions as opportunities to engage.

 

I could facilitate problem solving by simply listening.

 

I could learn a lot by listening.

 

I could choose to listen to understand instead of getting emotionally involved.

 

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Energy, Environments, Habits, Live in the Moment, Mindfulness, Relax and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Live in the Moment Challenge: Day 1: 7 Tips for Living in the Moment

  1. Marcy Apple says:

    I am going to notice life’s small pleasures. I want to focus on the beauty and the positive. I have done this in the past. 1. I will say my “Thank You”s and be grateful ,2. I will smile more often, 3. I will avoid passing judgement, 4. I will hug a loved one every day, 5.I will look for the good in someone else. 6. I will give someone a compliment every day 7. I will notice the view out my window 8. I will slow down. 9. I will make eye contact with strangers and smile. 10. I will tell one person a day I am thankful for them

    • Hi Marcy…always great to see you!

      Your comments have me thinking…I was thinking a mindfulness habit would be one single act done consistently like express gratitude each day. But with the list of all the things we could do to notice life’s small pleasures the mindfulness habit could be doing at least one thing from your list each day. So one day could be express gratitude and another day could be bringing home flowers for your bedside table. Each day could be filled with a special acknowledgement of at least one aspect of lifes simple pleasures.

      I’m liking this idea, this is going to be a really special month. Thank you for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

