Operation Opportunity and the A – Z Blog Challenge: K is for Karma

I do not really believe in karma, but I do believe in living a life that inspires others to live their best life. And I hope by doing so I surround myself with people living each day to the best of their abilities. I believe when we are functioning at our highest level we create and seize amazing opportunities.  I have gathered a few quotes about karma that inspire me to live each day at my highest level.

“How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.” ~Dr. Wayne Dyer

This is interesting, many times we view how people treat us as our karma and take responsibility for the good or bad treatment. This statement is permission to let go of other people’s karma and create your own on a daily basis. When I was in college I waitressed for a bit at a truck stop, most people treated my very kindly, but occasionally I would have a foul customer who treated me as the source of their disappointment. One of the seasoned waitresses taught me a life lesson when she said, “Sometimes people have a bad day, their boss kicked them around all day at work and the only way they know how to make themselves feel better is to go home and kick their dog. They just happened to stop here on their way home and kicked you instead.” Their bad treatment of me had nothing to do with me, but how I served them in spite of their treatment had everything to do with me.

“When you see a good person, think of becoming like her/him. When you see someone not so good, reflect on your own weak points.” ― Confucius

For many the last half of this statement may sound something like “When you see someone not so good, show them the error of their ways.” But that attitude forces us to miss the opportunity to grow and learn without having to go through all the pain or discontent. Throughout my life when I have seen people going through something uncomfortable, which could have been avoided, I try to take note. I can learn from others mistakes, I do not need to make them myself to learn life’s valuable lessons. Also when we reflect on our own weak points, instead of offering a correction, we release a grace and forgiveness into the world that is so needed.

“Karma is a tricky thing. To serve Karma, one must repay good Karma to others. To serve Karma well, one must sometimes deliver bad Karma where it is due.” ― M.R. Mathias

This quote makes me think about both sides to karma. Sometimes we are put into a position to deliver bad karma to our children or our direct reports at work. When we deliver bad karma in an honest and well intentioned way we are not evil or doing bad. We are not bad for delivering bad karma, we are the messenger and most people will eventually (if not immediately) accept responsibility for the bad karma that is served up in their lives. Most people seem to respect those who can deliver bad karma in an honest and well intentioned manner.

“I’m not a believer in predetermined fates, being rewarded for one’s efforts. I’m not a believer in karma. The reason why I try to be a good person is because I think it’s the right thing to do. If I commit fewer bad acts there will be fewer bad acts, maybe other people will join in committing fewer bad acts, and in time there will be fewer and fewer of them.” ― Daniel Handler

I love this. If you believe in Karma or not, this is a theory I live by. I do not seek to correct people or even change people; I seek to inspire good action. I hope I encourage us all to live our best lives each and every day, some of those days will be better than others and some of those days will be easier than others. Some days we will fall short of our own standards, but if we function at our daily best we may each inspire others to do the same. Then it is not just me doing this research, application, and writing for my own benefit, but also others doing the research, reading, and application for their own benefit. Together we have a bigger benefit for the world. That is my real opportunity.

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Operation Opportunity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

