Allowing Change

As we all do I have much experience with change.  My experience in the corporate world has given me many insights and theories on change.

I have been through corporate mergers, significant reorganizations, and layoffs. The primary change theory I have developed is people do not like to feel acted upon; people need to feel their choice in the change.  Yet as I go thru another reorg where I was not a part of the decision making process, but I let my preferences and career path intention be known to those making the decisions, I feel tended to in this change.

Ultimately I think mindset is the difference. When people feel acted upon one’s mindset is that of a victim, they are powerless and can feel like they must fall into line.  When the US economy was tumbling in 2009 and my management position was eliminated, I was grateful to have a job instead of a severance package.  However, I felt like the victim of the economy.

Now as that job moves more and more to the Hong Kong labor force I have gained new training and evolved my role in the company to benefit the business in new ways.  I’ve been exploring and creating my role. I feel empowered, although ultimately it is someone else’s decision if I stay or go in this reorg as well.

I’ve learned to strategically influence and allow change in life.

When my daughter presented this high school option to me I could have said no.  I could have kept the status quo and taken the more proven path.  This is a huge change, there is risk.  I could have said no, but the pros outweighed the cons and she really wanted to do this for all the right reasons.  I needed to allow this change, not just in saying yes to her, but in setting my mindset so I can flow with, create, and seize the opportunities in this change.

If you are finding yourself going through significant changes in your life, apply a few of these strategies to benefit the most of your transition:

Commit.  Allowing change means we say yes to the change and the opportunities of the change with full commitment.

Find Your Voice.  Identify your desires and intentions then share it with and demonstrate it to those who can help influence.

Claim Your Power.  At any given moment we choose strength or weakness.  We choose to step into a position of strength or back into the passive role of victim.

Create Opportunity.  Opportunity is not always obvious, sometimes we need to hunt for it.  Get curious, follow hunches, try something new, take a “what if” approach and see where you end up.

Establish Feedback Loops.  Understand the value and impact of your efforts from those most impacted, most influential, and most trusted.

Seize Opportunity.  Grasp onto a few things that seem promising and run with them.

Allow Change.  The constant of life is change.  Allowing change is not falling victim to it, but finding your power in it.

What would you add to this?  What strategies have you found helpful in allowing change to take place?

Over the next 26 Days or so I will blog about my journey through this change.  My intention is to really pay attention to what I am going through and learn from it.  Then put this into a 30 Day Plan for others to use as a Framework for their New Change.  Your insights on navigating change, your words of advice and wisdom, and your current or past experiences are welcome here.  Please share and help me make this a space of learning and exploration.

I consider all who participate in this blog a member of my RD&D Team.  If you would like to receive the “beta” version of the product that is generated from this blog series for FREE please participate by leaving your comments and send a blank e-mail to navigatechange@aweber.com.  Once the initial product is ready for review I will notify you with instruction on how to receive your FREE copy for review and use.

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Change and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Allowing Change

  1. Alan Miles says:

    Best of luck with this, Jodi. I’m all for challenges, as you know 🙂 And I love change, and never knowing quite what the next day is going to bring … but I suspect I’m in a minority.

    • You know Alan…I think most of us like change in one way or another, to one degree or another, so many want things different. For things to be different they must change.

      Although it sounds like you welcome and embrace the discovery of each day, which is a beautiful way to live. 🙂

      Thank you for sharing

Leave a Reply

