Navigating Change: Let’s Begin

Starts involve new situations and new external circumstances.  Beginnings are about internal developments – new understandings, new attitudes, new identities, and new ways of doing things.  Change expert William Bridges writes that Beginnings take place “when people are ready to make the emotional commitment to do things the new way and see themselves as new people.”

New beginnings are often uncomfortable because they:

  • Require us to step up and make a commitment
  • Remind us of all the anxieties associated with the ending
  • Make the ending seem that much more final
  • Require us to take a risk

At the same time new beginnings are exciting because they:

  • Allow us to make a new commitment
  • Provide a positive outlet for the nervous energy from the ending
  • Initiate a new exploration of the world
  • Give us permission to fail as we learn our way

5 Ways to Nurture Your New Beginning:

  • Understand the transition process and where you are in it. Are you really at the beginning or have you rushed through the discomfort of the neutral stage?
  • Be aware of what is drawing you in. A sense of being attracted to an idea or activity is often the sign of a tug out of the Neutral Zone and into a new Beginning.
  • Envision who you will be as a result of this new beginning.  What will it feel like when you’ve actually done whatever it is that you are setting out to do?  How will you spend your time?  Who will you spend your time with?  What will be different in you?  Think of yourself as a person who does X, even if you haven’t yet done X.
  • Be patient as the beginning unfolds. The kind of shift in identity that a new beginning entails does not occur overnight.
  • Develop new habits that support you in this new beginning.  What are the simple 5-10 minute daily actions that would ease you into this new beginning?  Perhaps eating breakfast each morning, a simple meditation practice before bed, or a transitional dog walk between work and family.

I am in the new beginning phase of my change.  My new routines are feeling established.  I can see where new habits would better support me and easily make the minor adjustments.  I more easily and naturally go to my 7 Strategy Projects.  There is a comfort in my new life and although I still catch myself on occasion doing things as though my daughter was home, I am embracing this new life.

How about you?  Are you ready to nurture your new beginning or do you need to put this post aside and come back to it when you are feeling dawn into the new beginning?  Where ever you are in the phases it is important to know about the phases and where you are in this transition process.

Over the next few weeks I will blog about my journey through the change of my daughter leaving home for a few months.  My intention is to really pay attention to what I am going through and learn from it.  Then put this into a 30 Day Plan for others to use as a Framework for their New Change.  Your insights on navigating change, your words of advice and wisdom, and your current or past experiences are welcome here.  Please share and help me make this a space of learning and exploration.

I consider all who participate in this blog a member of my RD&D Team.  If you would like to receive the “beta” version of the product that is generated from this blog series for FREE please participate by leaving your comments and send a blank e-mail to navigatechange@aweber.com.  Once the initial product is ready for review I will notify you with instruction on how to receive your FREE copy for review and use.

If you would like support in creating new habits that assist you through transition consider my FREE Program 30-Days to a New Habit.  You can receive the 30 daily actions plans via daily e-mails when you send a blank e-mail to new_habit@weber.com

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Change and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Navigating Change: Let’s Begin

  1. hunterjudge says:

    Very interesting. I love this idea and pleased with the name 100SmileChallenge. The way you explain the change is so welcoming and not very frightening at all. I would like to join you in this challenge as I embrace changes in my life as well.
    ~Laura

Leave a Reply

