Feel Good: Radiate Positive Energy: Which Daily Tasks Take Up the Most of Your Energy?

 “One essential to success is that your desire be an all-obsessing one, your thoughts and aims be co-ordinated, and your energy be concentrated and applied without letup.”

Claude M. Bristol

Today’s Energy writing prompt is “Which Daily Tasks Take up the Most of Your Energy?”  I am sure this is important to know, but I am not sure.  However, I know what my energy drains are.

Blue Sunrise_Blog PicMy most productive time is the morning so having to attend morning meetings, appointments, or other non-productive activities that take up my morning hours drain me.  When my hours of the most energy, mental clarity, and creativity are spend in not the most productive ways I feel a little robbed.  I need to guard my morning hours so I can put them to my best use.

There are activities that drain my energy.  I enjoy a few television shows and movies, but I prefer them in the afternoon or evening after I have tackled a few projects and I am feeling mentally or physically exhausted.  On days I work from home I might eat lunch while watching a favorite television show or part of a movie, but I need to limit that time so I maintain the momentum of my day.

There are foods that drain my energy.  I used to love going out to breakfast, but a big breakfast from a restaurant is loaded with too many calories and carbs; a big restaurant breakfast zaps my energy for a few hours following.  I am much more productive when I prepare a smaller meal at home.

There are also personality types that drain my energy. People who complain without taking responsibility or finding a solution drain my energy.  Also people who are easily angered turn me off.  I understand getting frustrated and angry with some situations, but a violent outburst triggers something in me that shuts me down.

Knowing what takes your energy is really valuable.  If you are an achiever like I am, I person who needs to check things off her to do list throughout the day, knowing what gives you energy and what zaps your energy is vital.  This allows me to make small changes that keep me performing at my best.

Today’s Simple Smile Igniter is to evaluate your energy patterns.

  • At what times during the day is your energy optimal?  Are you guarding that time for you?
  • What activities drain your energy or stop the flow of your day?
  • Which foods are conducive to your most important daily activities and which foods prevent you from achieving your daily goals?
  • What types of personalities do you thrive with and which personality types stress you?
  • Finally how could you add more of the things that focus your energy and reduce the things that zap your energy?
About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in Energy, Productivity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feel Good: Radiate Positive Energy: Which Daily Tasks Take Up the Most of Your Energy?

  1. I found your post through NaBloPoMo, and like the way you list all these things..and they are so true..great job.

Leave a Reply

