Feel Good: Invite Inspiration A Bloggers List of 12 Inspiration Invites

Inspiration strikes when we provide it the opportunity.  When we expose ourselves to inspirations possibility we invite it to ignite us.  Discover where inspiration resides for you and bring those activities and influences into your life.  When we invite inspiration our smile ignites.

“You can’t wait for inspiration.  You have to go after it with a club.”

Jack London (1876 – 1916)

This quote makes me laugh and I am sure it was said in good humor, but there is certainly wisdom in it.  So often people wait for inspiration to strike, I even do it with this blog at times.  I wait for the inspiration to strike and end up not blogging, because I am not sure about what to write about.

At times we need to seek out inspiration…at times we need to go after it with a club.

But how do we do just that?

Invite

It is often said that our passions ignite us, but sometimes we need to ignite our passions ourselves.  With a little thought we can create a list that will serve as friendly invites for inspiration.

I am going to play with the blogging topic and create a list of 12 Inspiration Invites.  After seeing the flow of ideas, I am confident that you will be able to create your own list of 12 Inspiration Invites for your area of passion too.

Writers are Readers.  I am not sure where I first heard this, but it is a mantra that runs through my head, especially when I am not writing.  When I find my writing well has run dry I find I can rehydrate when I read.  I tend to migrate towards fiction where a writer needs to transport me into another place, time and emotional state with the written word.  It is here that I marvel in the power of words and again find the flow of my own.

Google Alerts.  As a Happy Blogger I like to keep up on the science of happiness and a few of the specific key words of my platform.  I am not a newspaper reader or news show watcher.  When my daughter was little she left a lasting impression on me when she called the evening news shows “the bad news”.  I remember her walking into my parents living room and saying “Grandpa, are you watching the bad news again?”    Google Alerts serve as my good news reporter.

Daily, Weekly, Monthly Holidays.  I do have fun at times with the daily, weekly, and monthly holidays, especially those holidays that I can relate to my 100 Smile Challenge platform.  Happy Holidays are fun opportunities to create a real application for happy living so exploit those I will.

Research on my Topics.  I can easily get sucked into the research I do on my specific topics.  Even today I was going to spend time planning an e-book format, but I found this article I started a while ago and decided to finish it up since I have not been blogging.  Perhaps a bit of research and writing on inviting inspiration is exactly what will refill my writers well today.

Art Walks.  Exposing myself to others expression of creativity is inspiring.  There are so many times I see the artistic expression of another and want to creatively express myself right after.  There is a motivation and freedom that comes from experiencing how another uniquely develops and creates even with the most common of methods.

Other Bloggers.  As a blogger it is fun to read the blogs of others and experience how we all participate in the same medium, but with varying perspectives.  Yet, we often inspire and connect as blogging communities.

Conversation with Friends.  Many times my friends have inspired a writing series or at least a post.  We are all connected in this world and happiness is a basic human desire.  Meeting with friends and simply talking about the hills and valleys of our lives, our dreams, hopes and goals, and simply connecting where we are at that moment in time can inspire thoughts and conversations that lead to written words.

Nature or Just Water.  Many people share these two sources of inspiration with me.  The beauty, the diversity, and the commonality of nature slows me down and reminds me to simply breathe in freshness and energy of all that is around me.  Water has a way of calming my random thoughts and focusing my attention so I can find a steady stream of inspiration on a specific topic or applicable path.

Festivals, Conventions and Events.  Events on a specific theme are fun to me.  Although I do not attend many I am fascinated by the sense of community they foster and the safe place they create for us to “get our nerd on”.  A co-worker once said to me “we all geek over something”, this is so true and when we can geek with other geeks we are inspired!

Other Passionate People.  I really enjoy being in the presence of others who are pursuing their passions in a positive way.  They seem to have a positive energy about them, they get lost in thought and conversation trying to solve a problem, they get excited when they have breakthroughs, and they tend to easily share their enthusiasm when encouraged.

Relaxation & Self Care.  There are so many times when I will be working on a blog post or collection of writings and the thoughts are not translating into written words as I prefer, but when I take a short break and do something completely unrelated, like a nice lunch break in the sun or get a massage, that block between my mind and my words dissolves.  Even as an Operations Manager in my corporate environment when I am stuck on a process change, if I can take a break to run errands or go home and walk my dogs, when I return I often find the clarity I seek.

Blog Challenges.  Challenges are a fun way to push myself out of a comfort zone and into unfamiliar territory.  One of my favorite blog challenges is the A-Z Blog Challenge where each day for 26 days you blog through the alphabet.  Last year was my first year of doing this challenge, my topic was OPPORTUNITY, so for 26 days I had to find a word that related to Opportunity for each letter of the alphabet.  It was fun to push my creativity through another perspective.

Bonus:  Other Creative Activities.  I enjoy knitting, beading, cooking, and gardening.  These are other areas of my life where I can express myself creatively.  My favorite days are the days where I start off blogging, move to gardening, snuggle up with two sticks and a ball of yarn in front of the fireplace, then a bit of reading before my eyes close on me.  When I can move from one area of creativity and inspiration to another my life happily flows.

Today’s Simple Smile Igniter is to Generate YOUR List of 12 Inspiration Invites.  If you are seeking inspiration to write a book, to decorate your home, or to do your job to the best of your ability identifying and taking action to implement a few Inspiration Invites into your life will ignite a smile in you today.

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in 100 Smile Challenge, Feel Good, Invite Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feel Good: Invite Inspiration A Bloggers List of 12 Inspiration Invites

  1. Great post, Jodi! Thanks for sharing

  2. viewsofeye says:

    I need more inspiration in my life to get me away from procrastinating too much! I nominated you for the Liebster Award. If you want to join in you can do so here 🙂 http://viewsofeye.wordpress.com/2013/03/30/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

