A-Z Blog Challenge: B is for Breathe

Breathe

Three deep breathes.
Let’s take them now.

Breathe in through your nose.
Blow out through your mouth.

Again, in through your nose.
Again, out through your mouth.

One more time, in … and out.

When times are tough and we are stressed we tense up and we breathe shallower.

Taking three deep calming breaths allows us to back away from the stress, center ourselves, clear our minds, and reproach whatever we are doing with renewed calm.

When I find myself thinking about “My Dan” and all the things I’d like to say to him if always leaving a person whole was not a vow I had made myself, or wondering how he came up with such destructive communication patterns, and why would he apply such poor dating habits to such a great relationship …

I stop myself.

I take three deep breathes.

I breathe in thru my nose.
I blow out through my mouth.

Again, in through my nose.
Again, out thru my mouth.

One more time, in … and out.

And I wish him well or thank God for allowing “my Dan” to be my teacher or ask God to simply bless him or some other positive salutation.

It is not my job to change another person, to rob them of their free choice and will, to steal them from their life lessons, or to take on their issues as my problems. However, I strongly believe I am to leave people whole and to enable the restoration of others to wholeness.

When relationships end I need to find my peace without harming the other. Sometimes that means I just need to breathe and find my calm. Then from afar I can send a blessing to the other.

Some may ask “Really? You think your blessing will reach them?” I believe, “If its Gods will it will be done.”

I have found in doing this I find my peace with the situation. Sometimes boundaries still need to be set, but at this point it is more about me and what I need to restore myself.

It’s ok to focus on ourselves especially when we are hurt and broken, we need to heal ourselves and build our resilience.

Now before we part…three deep breathes.

Breathe in through your nose.

Blow out through your mouth.

 

Again, in through your nose.

Again, out through your mouth.

 

One more time, in … and out.

 

 

About Jodi Rosenberg

I am a life coach, corporate project manager, and generally happy person who has chosen to express myself through the written word with the intent of making life better for all of us.
This entry was posted in A-Z Blog Challenge, Change, Energy, Feel Good, Live Empowered, Mindset, Resilience and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

